THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT SAN ANTONIO

DOCUMENTS AND PROCEEDINGS OF THE GENERAL FACULTY

SUMMARY MINUTES OF THE FACULTY SENATE MEETING OF September 10, 2009

The regular monthly meeting of the Faculty Senate for the 2009-2010 academic year was held September 10, 2009 at 3:30 p.m. in the Travis Room (UC 2.202) with Dr. Mansour El-Kikhia, Chairman of the Faculty Senate, presiding.

I. Call to order and taking of attendance

Present: Diane Abdo, Sos Agaian, Steve Bach, Manuel Berriozabal, Mark Brill, Norma Cantu, Joel Christensen, William Cooke, Sara DeTurk, Beth Durodoye, Carol Dyas, Mansour El-Kikhia, John Frederick, Mary Ellen Garcia, Rhonda Gonzales, Robert Hard, Judith Haschenburger, Amy Jasperson, Palani-Rajan Kadapakkam, Zlatko Koinov, Margarita Machado-Casas, John McCray, Mary McNaughton-Cassill, John Merrifield, Jolyn Mikow, Elizabeth Murakami-Ramalho, Sandy Norman, Ben Olguin, Anand Ramasubmaranian, Hazem Rashed-Ali, Robert Rico, Cherylon Robinson, Ted Skekel, Johnelle Sparks, Virginia Trummer, Raydel Tullous, Carola Wenk, Bennie Wilson

Absent: Yoris Au, Ron Binks, Kim Cuero, Victor Heller (excused), Randy Manteufel, Sharon Nichols (excused), Darryl Ohlenbusch, Branco Ponomariov, Hatim Sherif

Guests: Ashley Diaz, Aaron Cassill

Total members present: 37 Total members absent: 9

II. Approval of the May 12, 2009 minutes

The minutes were approved.

III. Reports

A. Dr. Mansour El-Kikhia

Dr. El-Kikhia introduced the Faculty Senators. He emphasized the importance of attending meetings and requested that senators send a representative if they cannot attend.

He briefly reported on the Board of Regents. The first SYSFAC meeting for the year will be held October 1st.

B. University Assembly Report- Dr. Sandy Norman

Dr. Norman gave a brief overview of the structure of the University Assembly. He announced that the first meeting of the year will be held on September 23rd in the University Assembly room.

He stated that President Romo will be discussing the recent legislative session and other items involving UTSA. Also, head coach Larry Coker will be a guest speaker at this meeting. University Assembly meetings are open to guests.

IV. Nominations and Elections

A. Election of Officers and Members of Standing Committees

Ashley Diaz distributed the ballots on behalf of the Nominating committee for the election of officers and members of standing committees. Ballots included nominations made prior to the meeting; nominations made from the floor were then added. The ballots were counted and certified. Results of the election follow.

Officers and Executive Committee:				
Mansour El Kikhia	Chair			
Carola Wenk	Vice Chair			
Norma Cantu	Chair, Graduate Council			
Sandy Norman	Secretary of the General Faculty			
Diane Abdo	Secretary			
Raydel Tullous	Parliamentarian			
Hazem Rashed-Ali	School of Architecture			
Palani-Rajan Kadapakkam	College of Business			
William Cooke	College of Education and Human Development			
Randy Manteufel	College of Engineering			
Amy Jasperson	College of Liberal and Fine Arts			
Johnelle Sparks	College of Public Policy			
Carol Dyas	College of Sciences			
Academic Freedom and Tenure Committee				
Mark Leung	СОВ	8/31/2010		
Sarah DeTurk	COLFA	8/31/2010		
Kenneth Masden	COA	8/31/2010		

Chino Rao	СОВ	8/31/2010
Andrea Aleman	COLFA	8/31/2011
Leanne Alarid	СОРР	8/31/2011
Ben Olguin	COLFA	8/31/2011
Irina Solovyova	COA	8/31/2011
Karen Daas	COLFA	8/31/2012
Ruyan Guo	COE	8/31/2012
William Winsborough	cos	8/31/2012
Victor De Oliveira	СОВ	8/31/2012
Acade	mic Policy and Requirements (Committee
Juyan Zhang	COLFA	8/31/2010
Ruyan Guo	COE	8/31/2010
Clyde Phelix	cos	8/31/2011
Kimberley Bilica	COEHD	8/31/2011
Patricia McGee	COEHD	8/31/2011
Seok Kang	COLFA	8/31/2012
James Balentine	COLFA	8/31/2012
Bennie Wilson, Chair	СОВ	8/31/2012
	Budget Committee	
Carola Wenk	Faculty Senate Vice Chair	8/31/2010
Victor Heller	СОВ	8/31/2010
Kevin Grant	СОВ	8/31/2011
Fred Hudson	COE	8/31/2011
Robert Ambrosino	СОРР	8/31/2011
Michael Ryan	COLFA	8/31/2012
Donovan Fogt	COEHD	8/31/2012
Steve Bach	cos	8/31/2012
Sedef Doganer	COA	8/31/2012
Evaluation	s, Merit, Rewards, and Worklo	pad Committee
Mark Leung	СОВ	8/31/2010
Jerome Keating	СОВ	8/31/2010

Joel Christensen	COLFA	8/31/2010
William Cooke	COEHD	8/31/2011
Frank Chen	COE	8/31/2011
Patricia McGee	COEHD	8/31/2011
Jeffery von Ronne	cos	8/31/2011
Amy Jasperson	COLFA	8/31/2011
Jon Thompson	COA	8/31/2011
Jolyn Mikow	СОРР	8/31/2011
Marian Aitches	COLFA	8/31/2011
Cherylon Robinson	COLFA	8/31/2012
Victor De Olveira	СОВ	8/31/2012
Zlatko Koinov	cos	8/31/2012
^	lominating, Elections, and	Procedures Committee
Amy Jasperson	COLFA	8/31/2010
Jose Jimenez	COA	8/31/2010
Bruce Smith	COE	8/31/2011
Mariela Rodriguez	COEHD	8/31/2011
John McCray	СОВ	8/31/2012
Ted Skekel	СОВ	8/31/2012
Ron Binks	COLFA	8/31/2012
Johnelle Sparks	СОРР	8/31/2012
C	Committee on Handbook of	f Operating Procedures
Jolyn Mikow	СОРР	8/31/2010
Richard Tangum	COA	8/31/2010
John McCray	СОВ	8/31/2010
Thomas Coyle	COLFA	8/31/2011
Gayle Nicoll	COA	8/31/2011
Mary Ellen Garcia	COLFA	8/31/2011
Lars Hanson	COE	8/31/2011
Richard Harris	СОРР	8/31/2011
Cherylon Robinson	COLFA	8/31/2011

Donovan Fogt	COEHD	8/31/2011		
University Curriculum Committee				
Branco Ponomariov	СОРР	8/31/2010		
Raydel Tullous	СОВ	8/31/2010		
Anand Ramasubramanian	COE	8/31/2010		
William Cooke	COEHD	8/31/2010		
Craig Jordan	cos	8/31/2011		
Clyde Phelix	cos	8/31/2011		
Anthony Chronopoulos	cos	8/31/2011		
John Alexander	COA	8/31/2011		
Pat Thompson	COLFA	8/31/2011		
Melvin Laracey	COLFA	8/31/2011		
John Merrifield	СОВ	8/31/2012		
Hazem Rashed-Ali	COA	8/31/2012		

Ashley Diaz will send out a notice to new members on each committee and ask one of the members to convene the committee. Each committee must then choose a Chair and hold meetings as needed.

IV. Unfinished Business

No unfinished business.

V. New Business

Dr. John Frederick discussed HB 2504 and the mandatory online access to syllabi and vitae. Course syllabi must be placed on WEBCT as well as on department websites. Online information about courses will also be required prior to registration for an upcoming semester. Caution in posting syllabi for upcoming courses should be used because changes could occur during the semester; therefore, disclaimers may be necessary.

Information about department budgets will be linked to the institutional budget.

Within a year, course survey results will be posted online. The provost is considering a variety of models for this posting.

VI. Provost Report – Dr. John Frederick

Dr. Frederick reported that the President's State of the University Address will be held on September 29th at 3p.m. in the University Center ballroom.

He discussed an online course survey pilot in the spring, a full run during the summer, and an online survey in fall 2010.

He explained that President Romo is concerned about the security of the university's computers. In the next couple of months there will be encryption required for all laptops.

He recommends that everyone be inoculated against the flu and the H1N1 virus before the winter season.

He announced that Vice Provost David R. Johnson was leaving his administrative position to return to teaching and research. A reception held in his honor is scheduled for September 25th. Dr. Johnson's duties are assumed by the following administrators:

Jessie Zapata, Julius Gribou, Sandy Welch, Nancy Martin, Dorothy Flanagan and the Provost's office.

VII. Open Forum

Senators discussed the criteria for merit increases. The Provost is reviewing prior criteria.

IX. Adjournment

There being no further business, a motion to adjourn was made, seconded, and unanimously accepted at 5:30 pm.